UA Engineering Professor Named AVS Fellow


TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — Dr. Susan L. Burkett, Alabama Power Foundation Endowed Professor in electrical and computer engineering, was named a 2016 American Vacuum Society Fellow.

Fellows of the Society are AVS members who have made outstanding contributions in areas of interest to AVS. Burkett was chosen as a fellow for contributions in materials reliability and processing techniques for 3D integration, and for leadership in STEM education and within the profession.

To be eligible to receive the recognition, members have to be nominated and sponsored by other current members of AVS. Fellows must have been members of the society for five consecutive years and must show sustained and outstanding scientific and technical contributions in research, engineering, technical advancement, academic education or managerial leadership for at least 10 years.

Fourteen others were also selected as Fellows and received certificates for the accomplishment. Fellows of the Society is considered a prestigious membership level, and the membership percentage cannot exceed 0.5 percent in any calendar year.

At UA, Burkett is the interim associate vice president for research and a member of the Materials for Information Technology Center.

The AVS established the annual awards program to encourage excellence in research and innovation in technical areas of interest to the AVS. Also announced were three major award winners and eight graduate student awards.

As a professional Society, AVS supports networking among academic, industrial, government and consulting professionals involved in a variety of disciplines related to materials, interfaces and processing.

In 1837, The University of Alabama became one of the first five universities in the nation to offer engineering classes. Today, UA’s College of Engineering has more than 5,800 students and more than 130 faculty. In recent years, students in the College have been named USA Today All-USA College Academic Team members, Goldwater, Hollings, Portz, Boren, Mitchell and Truman scholars.