Su Named to Class of 2024 AIAA Associate Fellows

By Sarah Chase

Dr. Weihua Su

Dr. Weihua Su, associate professor of aerospace engineering and mechanics and director of the aeroelasticity and structural dynamics research laboratory, has been selected as one of the 2024 associate fellows of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

According to the AIAA, the award recognizes individuals who have “accomplished or been in charge of important scientific work, or who have done original work of outstanding merit, or who have otherwise made outstanding contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics.”

“I am humbled by receiving such great recognition from my peers for my little achievements. I shall keep my momentum and continue to make contributions to the search and education of aerospace science and technology,” Su said. “I could not have made such an achievement without support from my students and colleagues from the department, college and university.”

Selection as an AIAA fellow is a distinct honor as only 17% of AIAA members are associate fellows. The selection committee cited Su’s “notable accomplishments and contributions to the aerospace community” as being integral to his selection as a fellow.

Su is also an elected member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Aerospace Division Structures and Materials Technical Committee. His other achievements include winning the ASME/Boeing Structures and Materials Award in 2011 as well as the NASA Achievement Award in 2018.

Su will be recognized at an induction ceremony and reception for the 2024 class of associate fellows on Jan. 10 in Orlando, Florida, at the Hyatt Regency.

Read more about the award and view the full list of 2024 associate fellows here.

In 1837, The University of Alabama became one of the first five universities in the nation to offer engineering classes. Today, UA’s College of Engineering has more than 5,200 students and more than 170 faculty. In recent years, students in the College have been named USA Today All-USA College Academic Team members, Goldwater, Hollings, Portz, Boren, Mitchell and Truman scholars.

Author: Sarah Chase    /    Posted on: October 9, 2023    /    Posted in:   Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Awards and Honors, Faculty and Staff    /    Features: