2 UA Faculty Named Fulbright Scholars

By Bryant Welbourne

Two University of Alabama faculty members have received Fulbright awards for educators to teach and research around the globe.

Dr. Anwarul Haque, associate professor of aerospace engineering and mechanics, and Dr. Jaye Johnson Thiel, associate professor of early childhood studies, are UA’s latest Fulbright Scholars.

In 1837, The University of Alabama became one of the first five universities in the nation to offer engineering classes. Today, UA’s College of Engineering has more than 5,200 students and more than 170 faculty. In recent years, students in the College have been named USA Today All-USA College Academic Team members, Goldwater, Hollings, Portz, Boren, Mitchell and Truman scholars.

Author: Bryant Welbourne    /    Posted on: June 6, 2024    /    Posted in:   Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Awards and Honors, Faculty and Staff, UA News    /    Features: